For a February Baby

16 Jan

IMG_0970

IMG_0972

A sweater for our new baby.  Yes, a new baby!  We all are beyond excited.  He or she will be joining our family in a just a few short weeks.  The girls can hardly contain themselves.  They are busy choosing names.  Yesterday, while we were playing Quirkle, both of the older girls were able to feel the baby kick at the same time. Most nights, however, the baby doesn’t start really kicking until well after they are both asleep. They have felt the baby poking me as he or she stretches for the very limited space left as I read to them before bed.    In the middle of the game, the baby started rapidly kicking and they were over the moon to feel the baby moving inside me.

While absolutely every baby is a miracle, this time around I am astounded at how watching our three girls watch this baby grow has added a whole new dimension of miraculous to this pregnancy. Sophia kisses the baby at least once a day.  Eva has to sit differently on my lap as we read stories.  She calls my belly a baby.  We are still unsure if she knows a real baby is coming to live with us forever.  Ella is busy preparing to be the big, big, big sister.  She asks questions about how often the baby will need to nurse, when I think the baby will know who she, Sophie and Eva are, and how long the baby will sleep for.

IMG_0976

This sweater is the first thing I decided to knit for the baby.  Originally, I wanted this to be the coming home sweater, being a February baby and all.   I cast on for the newborn size, but I just kept feeling it would be too small to fit while our weather was chilly enough to dress this baby in as many knits as possible.  I re-cast on in the three month size and felt much better about my efforts.  While I am not sure the baby will be able to wear it as soon as he or she joins us, I am still very happy with it.  The buttons may be my favorite part.  I knew all along I wanted the sweater to have wooden buttons.  I found these on etsy.  They are handmade in Michigan and fit the sweater perfectly!

IMG_0985

As of today, all of the baby’s other clothes are still packed away in the garage, as are the receiving blankets, and the baby bed.  So, this is the only piece of clothing ready for our baby.  A mama made sweater is the most perfectly appropriate first clothing item in my mind.

Ravelry notes here

Joining Ginny for weekly yarn along

21 Responses to “For a February Baby”

  1. Andy January 16, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    The sweater is amazing Katie. So excited for you, Joel and the girls!

    • the lady bird January 16, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks Andy! Missing you and Erin and the boys today!

  2. stitchandpurl January 16, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Wonderful, how exciting. Congratulations! Knitting for a new baby is the best kind, I think. 🙂

  3. No Spring Chicken January 16, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    The perfect newborn sweater. Simple, classic, creamy white and fresh… perfect.

    Blessings, Debbie

  4. Emma Galvin January 16, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    That is beautiful, such a perfect shade for a newborn. Congratulations on your pregnancy, I will keep checking back here for news, I have one due in April and I have my eye on that pattern 🙂 x

    • the lady bird January 17, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      Emma,

      I had my eye on the pattern well before I was pregnant as well. It was really well written, and I enjoyed knitting it! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Alisa January 16, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    such a sweet little sweater! I made one of these for my last little that is almost 2 now!! Lucky you getting to hold a new baby soon!!

    • the lady bird January 16, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      Thank you Alisa! Hope you have a wonderful day!

  6. karen January 16, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    oh congratulations on the baby and why February is just right around the corner for us!! I bet that the kids will all be so happy to meet their sibling. Love the sweater!!

  7. eileen January 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Perfect knit for a february baby. it will get so much use !

    • the lady bird January 17, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks Eileen! I sure hope so! Thank you for stopping by and saying hello.

    • Wilma August 30, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

      I really apaeicrpte free, succinct, reliable data like this.

    • ovulation compromise September 24, 2014 at 11:39 am #

      You couldn’t pay me to ignore these posts!

  8. lori January 16, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    love love love your sweater, no spring chicken is right, it is just perfect. congratulations on our soon to be born baby!

  9. Erin January 17, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Beautiful sweater! Congratulations!

    • Marilu August 30, 2014 at 7:12 am #

      Super jazzed about getting that knww-hoo.

    • needs like September 24, 2014 at 11:54 pm #

      That’s not just logic. That’s really sensible.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a tiny blanket, together « - January 17, 2013

    […] you so much for all your kind words about the baby and the sweater from yesterday’s post.  I am most grateful for the community here and the friendships which have been […]

Leave a Reply

