Milo

23 Jan

IMG_1051 IMG_1062

Another knit for the baby!  There are eight days left until the baby’s due date. Every day I find little things that I would like to get done before he or she arrives.  I still have to wash the newborn clothes and pack my bag to take to the hospital.  I do, however, keep finding time to knit for the baby.

People will say the darnedest things to you while you are pregnant.  Please tell me you have noticed this as well.  I have tried to just smile and nod.  Joel and I went on a date Sunday afternoon.  In Panera, a woman stopped me to ask the baby’s gender.  I love the look on people’s faces when I say we don’t know, yet.  Just from my glow she was positive I was carrying a girl.  One store later, same glow I am assuming, another person stops me to ask me what I am having.  They are undoubtedly positive it is a boy just by how high I am carrying the baby.  Well, to that I say, come to my house and help me get off the floor after playing with the girls.

These above are the polite comments.  There are others.  Public service announcement:  if you are a stranger it is not appropriate to ask me if I was trying for a fourth baby; if this was to try for a baby boy; if it is my last pregnancy; or I am too young to have this many kids.  I am not kidding I have been asked/told all of these.  Please just tell me you wish the best for a safe delivery.  If you are feeling extra generous you can add that I am glowing!

Moral of the story: I don’t go out much anymore so I have a lot of time to knit at home.

Ravelry Notes Here

Joining Ginny for her weekly yarn along

8 Responses to “Milo”

  1. Katie January 23, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    Oh pregnancy comments…it’s so interesting how people seem to lose any sort of filter when speaking to a pregnant woman! I’ll be praying for a safe and speedy delivery 🙂

  2. Catherine Kenney January 23, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    this post is amazing! I, too, had some crazy things said to me during my pregnancy. here’s to wishing you a safe and healthy labor and delivery….and even though I’m too far away to see you, I have no doubt that you are beautiful and glowing! much love!

  3. mistea January 23, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Cute Milo loving the pretty colours.

    Enjoy the final days of this pregnancy and meeting your new little person.

  4. rachel January 23, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    Oh the comments…I know them too well. Most have been polite but they are have been plenty of stares and some downright glares. And then the kicker: “why did you have a fourth when you already had your boy?” For real?!?! I was speechless.
    But lots of knitting time is perfect! So excited for your upcoming addition. I love your sweet milo!

  5. Sarah Jane January 23, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

    I like your Milo, especially the stripes.

    • the lady bird January 24, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

      Thank you Sarah Jane. The stripes were so I did not run out of yarn, but I ended up becoming quite fond of them.

  6. stitchandpurl January 24, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Isn’t it amazing how people suddenly think it’s ok to ask the most personal things, just because you happen to be pregnant.
    Enjoy those last few days of anticipation!

Leave a Reply

