beginning and waiting

30 Jan

IMG_1106

Yes, beginning and waiting.  I finished the baby bonnet I was knitting for the baby.  {I will show you soon; I did not have time to take pictures yet.}  This morning, I needed to print a few sheets for Ella to begin a story book during school.  While I was waiting, I decided to dig this yarn out of my stash, so I could work up a gauge swatch this morning during school.  I am contemplating knitting a sleep sack for the baby while we are waiting for his or her arrival and want to make sure I like the combination of the yarn and pattern.  Around and around knitting sounds very soothing to me right now.

After last week’s cold spell and even getting snow, I picked up The Long Winter at the library this week.  I read all the books up to The Long Winter to the girls last winter.  After reading the first five books, they were ready for a change, so we never got to this one in the series.  I am not sure I read this book when I was a little girl.  I am enjoying it just as much as they are.

In the midst of waiting, and along side the beginnings, I have been steadily working on sewing curtains for the girls room.  They currently don’t have any curtains in their room, and it really began to bother me.  {I believe this is the definition of nesting!}  After moving some furniture this weekend, I got a bee in my bonnet and did all the measuring for the curtains.  I am not sure they will be done by the baby’s arrival, but they are begun!

What are you beginning?  Waiting for?

Joining Ginny for her weekly yarn along.

12 Responses to “beginning and waiting”

  1. stitchandpurl January 30, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    I got curtain fabric..um.. back in August I think. It’s still sitting on the shelf. My nesting instinct wasn’t strong enough I think! 🙂

  2. karen January 30, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    I hope you like your swatch so you can begin a sleep sack! I’m not sure I’ve read that book either as a child.

  3. Gretchen R January 30, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    With a 6 week old baby in our house, I’m all too familiar with that ‘waiting.’ What a sweet time. I’m glad you’re keeping yourself busy. I think that helps with the sanity more than anything!

  4. Renee January 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    Ahhhh – knitting and creative sewing projects – just the stuff to make waiting even sweeter 🙂 Enjoy!

    • the lady bird January 30, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you Renee! Yes, I agree! I actually learned to knit because my second daughter was overdue in January (a very cold one that year) and I needed something to make the waiting sweet.

  5. Kathi January 30, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Hey Katie,
    I´m new on your blog. I read a few posts an i find them very nice.
    I´m from germany and I found your blog by chance.
    Waiting for somethink is not my best, but I practrice.
    Wish you all the best.
    oh stop, now I know. I wait for your picture of baby bonnet. “smile”
    have a nice day.
    Kathi

    • the lady bird January 30, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Kathi,

      Thank you for your sweet words on my blog earlier today. I am happy you have found your way here and I only wish I could read German so I could learn about you! I will get the pictures of the baby’s bonnet soon. Hope you have a lovely day!

      Katie

      • Kathi February 1, 2013 at 5:44 am #

        Katie,
        thanks for your comment. my english ist not so good, but i try.
        I have decided that I will write my blog in the future in English and German. So you can follow me, if you want!!!
        now we let start the weekend. yeah, i´m very happy about
        familiy- weekend – live! bakingt, sleeping, reading, knitting,
        sewing and a lot of familytime. my grammar is not ever fine,
        but i try, too. please correct me, if you want, so i can learn
        a lot, i hope so.
        have a very nice weekend.
        heartly greetings
        kathi

  6. rachel January 30, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Sounds just like our reading last winter – we made it up to that book and the girls wanted to a break. Now I’m itching to dive into The Long Winter – even brought it down from the shelf but they aren’t interested. *sigh* So we are reading about Rocks and Minerals (the current subject of choice) instead.
    Enjoy that sleep sack!

  7. Sylvia January 30, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    I love the little house books!

    • the lady bird January 30, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

      I can’t remember reading them when I was little; although I do remember watching the tv series. I get excited to read them to the girls before bedtime every night. Thank you for stopping by today!

  8. Kristen January 30, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    Hope you get the curtains done before the baby comes! What an exciting time! And what a great read 🙂

Leave a Reply

