baby shoes & historical fiction

27 Feb

IMG_1468

Over the weekend, I picked up my knitting needles.  I decided Gavin needed grey booties.  On Sunday afternoon, there was a pocket of time where the girls were happily playing on the back porch, Joel had run to the grocery store for us, and Gavin had finished nursing.  The grey yarn was sitting there and so was I.  The stars had not aligned like that since he was born.  The first bootie is almost done.  He looks so handsome in grey.

I am currently reading The House at Tyneford and enjoying it.  I have all these pockets of time during the day while Gavin is nursing to read a couple pages here and there.  The story is set on the eve of WWII and through the beginning of the war.  Told from the point of view of a Austrian Jewess refugee from a fairly well to do family, who has sought safety in a parlor maid job at a large manor home on England’s coast.  I am really enjoying and gravitating to historical fiction as of late.  I just finished The Dressmaker. I really enjoyed that one.  The girls and I are still reading The Long Winter before bed each night!

Joining Ginny for her weekly yarn along.  What’s in your basket this week?

10 Responses to “baby shoes & historical fiction”

  1. Lisa February 27, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    Baby booties! They are the best to knit! I enjoyed visiting your blog.

  2. tess February 27, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    You know, I started reading the House at Tyneford awhile ago and had to return it to the library before I was done with it – you’ve reminded me to check it out again! Those booties are really sweet too. 🙂

  3. rachel February 27, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    Hooray – baby booties! So much fun to knit those tiny treasures.

    I’m waiting for House at Tyneford to arrive for me at the library!

    • the lady bird March 7, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

      Rachel, I am excited to hear what you think of it. I did not love it as much I have loved other books which fall into this genre, however, it kept me engaged. Hope your trip was great and you are relaxed and the family had a great time.

  4. woolythyme February 28, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    house…has been on my to-read list for awhile–thanks for the reminder. cute booties!!!!!

  5. Karen Sue March 4, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    This sound kind of weird, but my kids were mostly grown before I picked my knitting up. I don’t have any babies on the way and don’t want to push that at all!! But I think I’d like to try booties just for something to try and maybe someone in my church will need a pair. Or donate them somewhere. My mom’s friend used to make the nicest little pair that didn’t fall off

    • the lady bird March 7, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      Karen Sue,

      It doesn’t sound weird at all. These have been a really fun knit as I have slowly worked on them. They come together very quickly. The hospital where I delivered accepts knit hat donations. After they gave my baby a bath, the nurses brought him in the most adorable blue knit hat. I was over the moon at the thoughtfulness!

Leave a Reply

