Prince Shoes

13 Mar

IMG_1506

IMG_1520

IMG_1512IMG_1507

Baby toes need baby shoes.  I finished seaming these little shoes for Gavin yesterday afternoon.  Today, he wore them out on our car ride and they stayed on!  It is probably no surprise to you that I would love knit booties.  But, baby booties that actually stay on the baby’s feet – over the moon, I tell you.

Joel has been in San Francisco for work this week. His mom was sweet enough to come for the beginning of his trip to help keep us all sane.  (Thank you, Nana)  I wasn’t quite feeling up to four days and four kids all by myself.  During her visit, she and the girls created the Three Sister’s Tea House and served tea.  Our next door neighbor serendipitously  brought us a pound cake.  Nana helped the girls make beautiful and fancy paper fan menus.  This was the same day Gavin woke up with a stuffy nose and needed many snuggles.  Thank goodness there was a the enjoyment of the tea party and all its preparations.

The other day I noticed all this stuffing laying around the house.  When I asked Ella and Sophie about it, they told me they were making stuffed animals out of paper.  Naturally, I inquired as to where they got the stuffing.  From our pillow pets, Mom.  Obviously this was a silly question.   Today, the girls and I are going to attempt to sew shamrocks to accompany the St. Patrick’s Day books we have been reading.  According to the legend, St. Patrick used the three leaf clover to explain the Trinity.  Ella has been asking me about sewing lately and I am hoping this is a good introduction with an easy project to accompany it.  I have been trying to follow their leading more in regards to their creative projects.  In all honesty, they are so much more creative than I am. I want to join in their play and the wonder of the childhood imagination see where it takes us.  Just in case this proves to be too advanced, I have some shamrocks to color, too!

Joining Ginny for her Weekly Yarn along.  Thanks for stopping by and saying hello!

9 Responses to “Prince Shoes”

  1. Sarah Jane March 13, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    The booties are adorable.

  2. Amy Caroline March 13, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    I love making baby booties and socks. But, like you said, wish there was a magical way to keep them on!

  3. juliakathleenadair March 13, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    I love little girl (&big girl) tea parties. That is a clever little sewing project, thanks for the idea.

  4. Leslie March 13, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    Sweet ‘stay-on’ booties!

  5. Nat @ Made in Home March 13, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    Love the booties, so cute!

  6. lori March 13, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    so darling!

  7. ninnynoodlenoo77 March 13, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Knitted booties are always a lovely thing to see! 🙂

  8. rachel March 13, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    Such sweet booties! Love those grey stripes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

